A new post at last – on the Plantronics UC Blog…

Firstly, an apology: sorry that I haven’t posted for an eternity. Like many bloggers, I’ve been struggling with the challenge of keeping a blog up-to-date when other things are competing for your time – specifically family and work. So like many-a-blogger, I’ve been reduced to 140 character posts on unified communications over on my Twitter feed.

I’ve been planning to write a blog about user adoption of unified communications and how smartphones are raising the level of expectations around how user friendly UC solutions must be.  Karen Auby finally gave me the shove I needed to finish the post by asking me to guest blog on the Plantronics Unified Communications Blog (which, whilst I’m on the subject, has developed into a really interesting blog with a wide range of contributors).  I won’t re-post the whole thing over here, but I’d welcome your comments either here or there.

Hopefully this will be the push I need to post again on a more regular basis…

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “A new post at last – on the Plantronics UC Blog…

  1. I like the analogy to stale food that you ascribe to stale technologies!

    Unfortunately, stale business communication processes are not so easy to get rid of. I have always looked at the individual end user needs as the real driver for UC and that includes more than just person-to-person contacts in the Internet environment. I include person-to-process contacts for all end users, business users and consumers, and, with the power of mobile, multi-modal devices, process-to-person (proactive contacts through CEBP) are going to take greater priorities in traditional call center center applications.

    I have tried to emphasize that what UC really brings to the table is the flexibility of multimodal and transmodal contacts, as opposed to the legacy telephone and its inefficient TUI. My latest comment highlights what I call “multimodal notifications” that can be generated by a business process application, and start minimizing the delays and expenses of relying on staffing to do those very common tasks. Furthermore , it can help reduce the “blind” and expensive inbound calls to a call center by helpinng to initiate more “contextual” contacts through “click-to-assistance” activity.

    Given the thrust of UC in this direction, I wouldn’t say that UC is “stale,” it just has to get away from our old telephony cuture!

Leave a Reply

